Quick post: A great article on why I’m trying the traditional route first.

Proposed book cover for my WIP

Proposed book cover for my self-published version of Pictures of Love

I’m taking a quick respite from my daily blogging of Claire’s exploits to share an article about self-publishing vs. taking the traditional route. A few people (my husband included) have started asking why I’ve decided not to self-publish Dragon Wraiths and maybe not even Pictures of Love. I’ve struggled to give a convincing answer. Then I was directed to a great article by Catherine Caffeinated as part of her Sunday Coffee Reads posts.

The article is by Chuck Wendig on his terribleminds blog. CAUTION: he does use rather strong language, so the post is not for the fainthearted (which is why I haven’t included it here).

This is the link to the post: What Flavour of Publishing will you Choose?

I’m not saying I think Dragon Wraiths will fly (excuse the pun) like his novel has, or that I’ll be seeing it at the cinema anytime choose. But wouldn’t that be cool? And how will I ever know, if I don’t try? It isn’t just about not wanting to do my own editing and marketing (although that’s part of it). It’s having a dream.

So, that’s it. I probably might as well buy lottery tickets, but it does happen for some people, right?

5 thoughts on “Quick post: A great article on why I’m trying the traditional route first.

  1. Don’t give up. I am always trying for the traditional route. Don’t forget that rejection can make us stronger. I wish you the best of luck 🙂

    • Thank you! I’ve only just started sending queries out so I’m not going to give up. It’s just I have been talking about self-publishing for months so there is that temptation to do it just to have something to show for my endeavours! Four years at home writing with nothing to show for it makes you feel a bit rubbish…

      • Only show when you are ready. As for me, I always go for both the traditional and self-publish route. At least we are going for it than sit back and wonder ‘what if’. I really do wish you the best of luck and do let me know if you do get publish the traditional way 🙂

Leave a comment