What Happened to April?

Battling Dinosaurs

Battling Dinosaurs

This month seems to have flown by in a gust of Arctic wind and a flurry of chaos.

Our new bathroom is (almost) finished. Ignoring some poorly-laid flooring, terrible sealing, and lethal points on the window sill, it’s done.

We haven’t quite moved in, as it hasn’t quite been signed off, but it’s nice to be clean and not to have to run downstairs in the night for a pee. Plus I’ve had great fun buying matching accessories.

My daughter said this morning (as she was finally ordered into the bath when coaxing wouldn’t work), “Mummy, why have you bought purple towels and white toilet paper?” I had to explain it was like her choosing the right shade of tights to go with her dress. It might be another thirty years before she understands though!

New Bathroom

New Bathroom

The novel I’m writing for my niece is also (almost) finished. I’ve done one edit, and my daughter is currently reading it (and happily pointing out poor word choices and sentence structure. She’s 7.) She asked if she’d get paid for editing it, and I said when I get paid more than a pound for writing it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now I’m torn between doing more editing of previous books (needed), starting work on the Editing course I spent precious money on (probably wise), helping the school fundraise for new equipment when we move sites (mucho kudos), more ironing, house cleaning, and painting (too tiring!), or killing dinosaurs in the Jurassic World game that is the current family Martin addiction.

I have, of course, been doing the latter… Ho hum.

How I Feel!

How I Feel!

That’s when I’m not at my children’s school learning how they teach maths to five-year-olds, taking my son to cricket, daughter to Rainbows, or dog for a walk. Plus we’re off to a festival on Sunday, so that needs planning too.

Ah, now I understand what happened to April. Like every other month it passed in the madness we call life.

7 thoughts on “What Happened to April?

  1. Wow! So … Not busy or anything! Mwahahaaaargh. My bug bear at the mo is four day weeks. Then the school bunts in an activity, we have our curriculum thing on Monday, and suddenly it’s three. Current w.i.p. Is going slowly!

    Cheers

    MTM

    • Haha school gets in the way, doesn’t it? I’m looking forward to next year when my daughter can do an after-school activity. I love picking them up from school and feel privileged that I can do so, but 9-2 is not a full day for writing!

      • Tell me about it, and all the other stuff they invite you up there for that you can’t not go to without feeling like a bad parent …. I only have a 4 day week to start but it’s usually whittled down to 3 by something come the summer term!

Leave a Reply

