The Joy of Not Caring If They Eat

Happy Mealtimes

Happy Mealtimes

I mentioned in my last post trying a new food regime called The Division of Responsibility.

It’s marvellous.

For the first time in years I’m enjoying cooking for the family, rather than dreading dinnertime.

My energy and brain are still spent on food, but now it’s what interesting recipes can I find, rather than what on earth can I cook for a fussy family.

Today, we had freshly baked scones for breakfast (I had some jam and cream left over from afternoon tea at Burghley House!)

For tea we had baked ham (using my Mum’s special recipe), fresh bread, mini omelettes, and buckets of veg.

I think my daughter ate a piece of ham and some yoghurt, and my son had a few pieces of yellow pepper. I’m only guessing from this photo: I ate everything and didn’t really notice what the kids ate. I provided healthy yummy food – as is my responsibility. Whether they ate or not was theirs.

I suspect they filled up with snacks on the way home from the park, but as the snack box newly installed in the car is full of dried fruit and rice cakes (okay and chocolate cookies this evening – they needed energy for the park!) I’m okay with that too. If they’re hungry they’ll eat a good breakfast in the morning.

It’s early days, but I like it as an approach. It feels positive.

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Not Caring If They Eat

  1. I totally commend your effort on this approach! I could never do it. @_@ I have this thing, in the back of my head, that flares into rage-mode when I cook and people don’t eat. It’s not just the kid; I get super-frustrated with my hummingbird-sized-stomach father and my picky-as-hell father-in-law too. >.<

Leave a Reply

