I Want to Be a Bestseller, Oh Yes (Oh No)

The judges don't look at all scary

The judges don’t look at all scary

This week I’ve been working on a competition entry, flagged up to me by fellow blogger and authors Pat Elliott and Helen Yendall.

The UK based competition is being run by ITV This Morning and Curtis Brown (an agency I’ve submitted to in the past). The entry has to be the first 3,000 words of a work in progress (I wonder how many NaNo first drafts will be entered) together with a one-page synopsis.

As my WIP has three POV characters, back story, tarot mysteries and hidden secrets, I found it almost impossible to write a coherent one-page synopsis. I’m also reliably informed that having three POV characters in the first four chapters is pretty confusing, so I don’t expect to go far.

And actually that’s fine with me, because even though one of the judges is my idol Marian Keyes, and the prize includes a six month writing course and representation by Curtis Brown, the idea of being shortlisted leaves me quivering like a cowardly jelly.

Why?

No desire to sit on these sofas!

No desire to sit on these sofas!

Because the five finalists have to go to London in a couple of weeks and appear on live TV. I think they might even have to read out some of their novel. I genuinely can’t imagine anything worse. Even meeting Marian doesn’t tempt me. I couldn’t get a book signed by Joanne Harris, even though I love her novels, because I was too embarrassed.

Shy, introvert, HSP, anxiety, whatever my affliction is, meeting new people terrifies me.

So, I’ve entered, I’ve worked hard on my entry and I’m reasonably pleased with it. But don’t wish me luck because I’m not sure I want it! Thankfully, having watched the launch program, I don’t think I’m in any danger of having to sit on that couch!

Oh for the days when writers sat in their drafty garrets and spurned the public!

5 thoughts on “I Want to Be a Bestseller, Oh Yes (Oh No)

  1. Hi writermummy. I liked this write-up. I definitely sympathise with you! I too am deciding whether to enter this comp. To be honest, I’ve talked myself into it now (as well as asking my nearest & dearest to talk me into it too.) I congratulate you for swallowing your fear and going for it too. It’s the only way forward for us serious writers, although I completely agree with your closing statement on this blog. I would much prefer to be a writer who could lock myself away to just WRITE! Good luck. I mean, bad luck. 😉 x http://novel-by-sjs.blogspot.co.uk/

  2. I’m glad you screwed your courage up to the sticking point and did it! Although the thought of the tv is scary, the real life thing is okay. The pros would make you feel at ease.

  3. Pingback: My Brain Hates Me | writermummy

Leave a Reply

