Let it Go (Parenting remix)

The dirt never bothered me anyway

The dirt never bothered me anyway

I wish I could sing. I’ve fallen a little bit in love with the Let it Go song from Frozen, much to my kids’ disgust. They keep telling me off for singing it. But I love the sentiment and I’ve always had a weakness for a power ballad.

The song plays on loop in my head, going round and round. Slowly new lyrics have started to accompany the song, and suddenly I found myself writing the kind of parody I love so much on social media (like the brilliant Do You Want to Go to Starbucks.)

Unfortunately I can’t sing. I try. I love singing. But I’m always flat. Plus I don’t like cameras – I don’t even like photos of me, never mind video or audio. So all a bit of a waste really, I’m never going to make my perfect parody.

But I did have fun writing the words. When I wrote a romantic version of James Blunt’s Goodbye my Lover for my other half, the band sang it at my wedding. Maybe I’ll find someone to film this for me (and split the advertising revenue if it goes viral! Haha.) Of course there are already a few Mommy parodies, but I like to think I wrote more of my own words!

Let it Go (Parenting Remix)

The toys are strewn on the playroom floor, not a clean space to be seen
A whirlwind of dark destruction and it looks like I must clean

The kids are screaming like their favourite dog just died
I can’t keep calm, heaven knows I’ve tried

Don’t let them win, don’t let them see
How their constant mess is killing me
Just breathe, don’t grieve, don’t get too low
Go with the flow

Let it go, let it go
Can’t fight the mess any more
Let it go, let it go
Turn away and close the door
I don’t care what my friends might say
Let the kids play on

The dirt never bothered me anyway

It’s funny how some caffeine makes everything seem fine
And if that doesn’t quite cut it then I’ll open up the wine

It’s time to take some time for me, read a book or turn on the TV
No guilt, no shame, no endless chores
I’m bored

Let it go, let it go
I can live with the filthy floor
Let it go, let it go,
I won’t get angry any more
Let them paint and make things from clay
Let the kids play on

I tiptoe through the bricks and beads and rainbow bands
I pass the barbie shoes and broken cars and scattered sand

And one thought creeps up on me like a muddy pet
It may be chaos but I aint seen nothing yet!

Let it go, let it go
And I’ll learn to smile again
Let it go, let it go
That perfect house is gone
Here I am in amidst the fray
Let the kids play on

The dirt never bothered me anyway

 

By Amanda Martin

4 thoughts on “Let it Go (Parenting remix)

  1. Amanda, I wish I knew the song!!!! I always like your posts, though! It’s like going home! We are racing around getting ready for college and I think back to the days you are in, when I would put a “Bananas In Pajamas” tape in the car and sing right along. Too old fashioned for you!!!!

Leave a Reply

