Gardening

Tidy front garden

Tidy front garden

I did some gardening today, for the first time in about two years. I realised it was open gardens in our village this weekend and I didn’t want to have the scruffiest house in the entire village, so I decided to tackle and tame the front garden.

Pre-kids I did a fair amount outside, although I’m not a massive fan of gardening (plus I have black rather than green fingers). Since becoming a parent? Not so much. I used to mow and weed the day before our annual family barbecue, followed by a trip to the garden centre to buy bedding plants that might live for several weeks after the family had left. The garden looked amazing for a month, tops.

We didn’t have a party last year, so it’s been a long time since the trowel and strimmer have crossed my path. Turns out there’s a good reason for that.

Things I’d forgotten about gardening:

  1. Blisters are painful
  2. Just how evil-prickly our hedge is (we don’t own a hedge trimmer)
  3. How hot and cross gardening makes me (especially when it’s 22C and sunny)
  4. Children are not good assistants and may try patience beyond endurance (see point 3)
  5. Making the garden tidy is addictive but impossible
  6. Plants are expensive and generally come to our house to die
  7. Discovering muscles I forgot I had and knowing it will hurt more tomorrow and the day after
  8. Maximum effort only achieves minimum visible results
  9. Only retired or unemployed people have time to garden how they want to
  10. I’d rather be writing

2 thoughts on “Gardening

  1. Plants and I don’t really get along well….I think in the grand scheme of things I have too much to take care of and plants just become sort of invisible to me!

    Good thing because I am not a fan of blisters….

Leave a Reply

