I Want to be a Dog

I want to be a dog

I want to be a dog

Today I envied my dog. She spent most of a rainy morning curled up in her bed or laid out on the sofa. The kids fed her biscuits and she even got her walk when hubbie got home. But mostly she slept, unmolested and alone.

I envied her because I am sick. Again. I’m not even sure I actually got over the last cold; they seem to have merged into one long month of misery.

After getting up and putting two bowls of dry cereal on the sofa and Cbeebies on the TV I crawled back to bed and tried to stay there. It lasted until hubbie left for work, when the calls of “Mummy, Mummy, Mummy!” came up the stairs.

When that failed, the thunderous sound of approaching children thumped up the stairs in time with my headache, followed by voices too loud and too high, and hugs too short and demanding.

I got up, showered and struggled downstairs, only for them to disappear off to play happily by themselves for half an hour. Kids! It’s been like that all day. Like vultures circling a dying animal, the children seem to know when I’m at my weakest and dive in with claw and beak. They squabbled and fought, over toys, over me. They were mean to each other, provoking tantrums left and right. Such a change from my gold star Mummy day yesterday.

The worst part? Apart from opening my Class Act manuscript and realising it’s a pile of poo? The worst part is they go back to school/nursery tomorrow. My first day alone in nearly three weeks and I’m sick. Not even sure how I’ll manage the school run. Sigh. Never mind. As always in the blog universe, there are plenty of other Mummies sharing my pain. My favourite two posts from today are these:

Vanilla Housewife Lethargic Mama

Scary Mommy Finding Me

Enjoy.

10 thoughts on “I Want to be a Dog

    • Thanks, Pat! I suspect my family do, too. I do get in this downwards spiral in winter where I never get over a cold because I’m so run down I catch a new one. Just arrived in coffee shop to work and my laptop is flat (just realised I must have unplugged the charger when I unplugged the Christmas lights!) I think the universe is telling me to go back to bed.

  1. Yes! I’d like to be a dog too! I Chihuahua preferably ๐Ÿ™‚
    So sorry to hear that you’re sick, it can be such a drag to have to get out of bed when all we want to do is sleep for a few hours. Hope you feel better soon! and thank you for the shout out! xo

  2. I am sorry you’re sick. It’s misery isn’t it. I hope after that school run you can crawl back into bed and the dog will leave you in peace.

Leave a Reply

