Back Again

Big Ben

Big Ben

Good morning and Happy New Year! I hope you all had lovely celebrations last night.

I saw in the new year as I’m sure many mothers of small children did: sleeping on the sofa from 9pm until 11.45pm, waking up for a glass of Baileys and a mince pie, watching the spectacular fireworks on the TV, then crawling in to bed.

Our daughter came in an hour or two later, after having a nightmare and, because it’s been a hectic week, I let her spend the night with us.

It seems appropriate that I spent the first few hours of 2014 in the position I suspect I will occupy all year: jammed between husband, children and my need to write. I lay awake thinking about what I really wanted to be doing – apart from trying to sleep in a space the size of a park bench – and I knew I wanted to be writing.

I have spent the last few days cleaning and being a (grumpy) parent. Tiredness and PMT have guaranteed the grumpy bit. It wasn’t really the best time to have extra children in the house, but my daughter was missing her friends so I duly invited some over. I tried to stay out of their way and do cleaning, which mostly worked. It’s wonderful to have a clean and tidy house, miraculous even, considering she had two friends for a four-hour playdate, almost immediately followed by another friend for a sleepover, and the rest of his family the next day for lunch. The phrase “Shovelling snow while it’s still snowing” springs to mind.

The ten-minute firework display is amazing

The ten-minute firework display is amazing

And now the new year is here. The house is clean (for now), the friends have departed, and it’s time to figure out what I want to do with the time I get in the week to ‘work’. Will that be housework or will it be writing? I suspect that, without the driving force of the daily blog and Two-Hundred Steps Home, it will be even more of a constant juggling act between want and need, duty and desire.

Last year, the blog and Claire became my duty, with a daily deadline to fulfil. That made it much easier to ignore the housework (and the family!) This year I won’t have that excuse. It will be interesting to see if I am strong enough to keep writing anyway.

So it seemed important to get up this morning and write. Even this little blog post is enough to keep the fires burning, I hope. I’m not sure what I’ll blog about. Looking at my most visited posts of 2013, it looks like book reviews and articles about self-publishing (with a little bit of kids’ craft thrown in) are what attract visitors. Not the writing and parenting posts that fill up 90% of this blog! So maybe a few more reviews and a bit less whinging. We’ll see.

What resolutions and plans do you have for 2014? How will you make them happen? I’m thinking some hard and fast commitments, written down, will help. So, I will publish two more books this year. And I will (try to) continue to blog daily, but without killing myself or neglecting my family (too much). There, it’s said. No going back now!

 

8 thoughts on “Back Again

  1. Good luck with your goals! They sound very achievable. I, for one, will still be keeping up with your blog!

    And congrats on finishing your blogging daily year, what a huge accomplishment that is!

  2. At a loss over my second cup of coffee, I clicked your icon anyway…and Yeah!… a new post! Nice pics, I always imagine watching the ball drop in New York Times Square as my New Years memory, but now I have a new image tucked away, having never thought about a fireworks background to Big Ben. Thanks for that, I’m trying to keep my mind on positive thoughts and images to chase away the sad,bad ones lurking around corners trying to creep in.
    Random image I have pondered lately….which regions, countries have the crazy new years tradition on a “Polar bear swim” of loco people celebrating but jumping in freezing water to shock the immune system, and just for laughs? That is what I will be researching today, because for some reason I always get a kick out of seeing this, although never tried it myself.

    • We saw a whole bunch of people racing around the park in the freezing rain today, when we took the kids. I think they jump in the Serpentine in London, but can’t remember if it’s Christmas Day or New Year. What did you find out? 🙂

Leave a Reply

